“Brace for Impact”

r2906187806

Yesterday afternoon I was in Time Square when suddenly a bunch of cop cars took off heading west. I get in the train and head back to Brooklyn. The train comes above ground right before my stop. My mom had sent me a text that said “Yeah, you should always use JFK, not LaGuardia.” I had no idea what she was talking about until I got home and turned on the news.

As you may have heard “a US Airways jet with 155 people on board ditched in the frigid Hudson River off Manhattan after apparently hitting a flock of geese (and then doing a u-turn over the Bronx) on Thursday and officials said everyone was rescued.”

The witnesses say the last thing the pilot said was “Brace for impact.” Two things popped into my mind when I saw this story yesterday. One, I am waiting for PETA to come out in defense of the slaughtered geese in this “tragedy.”
Two, “Brace for impact” is the last goddamn thing I ever want to hear out of a pilot’s mouth while I’m flying.

What worse phrase could you hear right before you think you are going to die?

“Barack Obama has decided against this whole president thing. The supreme court is appointing Sarah Palin.”

“Scientology is actually the one true religion.”

“We are going down, please enjoy these harmonious tunes provided by Clay Aiken.”

You tell me…

(Dasco)

(Image: Yahoo News. Quote: RUETERS)

Leave a comment

Filed under art, New York Streets

Leave a Reply

