Heather Gargon: A Conversation About Lies & Secrets

first

I recently came across the work of Heather Gargon. Immediately, I had some questions. One of the first things I ask about a piece of art is the inspiration. Where did these little guys come from? Are they based on any real animals? Chihuahuas? Prairie dogs? Marsupials? Are they based on a mythology? To my surprise, Heather’s inspiration comes from something far less tangible than actual animals…

113

“Last year I made an installation called “card board forest” where my first stuffed loves made their debut. Some of them are lowly acts, such as telling a lie. For example “What does a lie look like?” If you saw one physically running around? For me, I made them white and mouse like, because any of the lies I tell are usually little white lies. The installation as a whole was supposed to be my personal purgatory with all my secrets, fears, and ambitions manifested into actual beings. There were some sloths in the exhibit. Lust, for me it comes in the form of a sloth because it always hangs on your back. Some of my personal fears and regrets were in the show. One in particular in the form of a cat. It is the sad cat you might see on my personal business cards. He used to be an actual living cat, I had him from a kitten for about four years. He got older and my mother just took him for a ride one day out into the country, stopped the car, and tossed him out the door. My younger sister and I were in the car. The act in general is just so true to the world everyone gets the boot at one point or another. Last but not least, the bear, he shows up alot in my work. The bear constantly stalks me and terrifies me but at the same time he protects me, he is fear and love all at the same time( He just may be based on a real person).”

33

“If you like the stuffed loves you will really like the new sculptures at Blue in Green on Green street off of Canal. They are an advanced form of stuffed animals ready to walk and talk, I made them capable of being animated for stop motion.”

Learn more about Heather Gargon here.

Leave a comment

Filed under art, interviews

Leave a Reply

