David Foox: A conversation on “Canvas”

Some of my favorite pieces from David Foox are his works on official targets of the NRA. I noticed certain political undertones and thought I’d ask David what was the story behind these paintings.
I go through phases. Sometimes I like the curved lines of Buddha, of faces, and of the body. Other times I like the rigid, uncompromising lines of machines and technology.

The “G8n Series” represented the latter.

This series is comprised of different painted firearms in combination with political party logos. The goal was to attach personalities to the two things that typically do NOT have personalities; political machines and inanimate objects. Some might argue that politicians themselves are inanimate objects but I wont go that far. That is a conversation for another future series…

I tried to match the guns with the subject matter of the entire painting. For instance, my favorite, “We’re All Friends Here” carries with it two AK-47’s, the weapon of choice for sparring African tribes and political organizations. On the other hand, I find the guns on the DNC and Republican party paintings to be a “personality” match between the two. Squint and maybe you will agree with me. The Victorian-esque musket on “The Natives Are Restless” represents a true story about how the Maori tribes first got their hands on guns. The gun painted here is a copy of the actual muskets first used by the Maori and purchased from British merchants. I suppose this could be considered an early example of the arms dealer (Nicolas Cage) in “Lord of War”.

Also the “G8n Series” is titled such in “honor” of the G8 nations (which recently almost became G7 nations).

The “canvas” is NRA official targets – why? Because I think it is very rare to be able to tie the subject matter to the actual canvas and for me that meant I had really
“ensconced” the entire project nicely. It just seemed to me more complete that these were done on targets and not paper or cloth.


Learn more about David Foox.

3 Comments

Filed under interviews

3 responses to “David Foox: A conversation on “Canvas”

  1. Sir Snazzy McBugbear Ridiculous Palmerstone

    Brilliant!

  2. all jazzed up

    very interesting and extremely clever the shape of the gun and the organization symbol line up so to speak

    keep em flowin’

  3. say-what?

    Love the Maori Foox Gun. And the African AK’s good on ya bro. you are making quite the name for yourself.

    I want the SAS painting you promised me.

Leave a Reply

