Michael Hsiung Interview

Exclusive interview with legendary West Coast Illustrator Michael C Hsiung. Topics include guns, bestiality, male on male massaging, and large portraits of Michael’s face drawn by his mother. What more could you want?

1. What the hell were you doing shooting guns in the desert?

Ha-ha. My friends and I were down in Palm Desert visiting some a buddy for his birthday. His brother and him have some great guns — sawed off, old WWII rifles and handguns. They thought they’d take us out to the middle of nowhere to shoot them at stuff.

2. I’m noticing some elements of bestiality in your recent drawings. What do you have to say for yourself?

Animals need love too.

3. I know your sister is an artist. I have always wanted to ask you about your parents though. Are they artists? How do they feel about their son drawing male on male massaging, mermen, and unicorns?

My father can actually draw pretty well, but chooses not too. In her later years, my mother has really gotten heavily into art. She is excellent with ceramics and with pencil work. She made me a bust of myself and has drawn very large portraits of my face, which she likes to keep hung over her dining room table. Weird, huh.

4. You are hot shit. What kinda pens do you use? paper?
I usually use Microns, nothing fancy, but someone recently told me I should work with Rapidographs. You know, those fancy pens that lots of illustrators use. I’m working with those now to see how they work for me. In terms of paper, I typically stick to that Canson off white, acid-free stuff, but sometimes I like to draw little Hitlers in books.

5. Any last words?
Thanks to Dasco for doing this mini-interview and I wish the Mongol, I mean Mongrel well! Also, thanks to all those folks who e-mail me weird questions and photos of their feet.

Visit the official website of Michael Hsiung.

Leave a comment

Filed under interviews

Leave a Reply

